European Western Balkans
European Integration

Fajon: Vote on visa-free travel for Kosovo postponed

TANJUG_mali BRUSSELS – A July 12 vote on introducing visa-free travel for Kosovo has been postponed until September 5, Tanja Fajon, the European Parliament rapporteur on visa liberalisation for Kosovo, told MEPs on Tuesday.

Fajon made the decision to postpone the vote due to Kosovo’s insufficient progress in meeting the last requirement, in particular, ratification of an agreement on the border with Montenegro, said a statement released by her office.

Fajon said that she firmly believed that, following a ratification in the assembly of Kosovo, the European Parliament would by the end of 2016 back visa-free travel for Kosovo.

Related posts

EU-Serbia parliamentary committee meet in Strasbourg

EWB Archives

Albanian Parliament to vote four new ministers

EWB Archives

Brnabić urges establishment of Community of Municipalities

EWB Archives