Latest Articles

Conference “From Paris to Rome – Perspectives from Albania on Regional Cooperation” held in Tirana

International conference "From Paris to Rome: Perspectives from Albania on Regional Cooperation" has been organized in Tirana on 26-27 October by the Cooperation and Development Institute / ShtetiWeb in cooperation with Konrad Adenauer Foundation, Friedrich Ebert Foundation and Hanns Seidel Foundation.

The conference gathared numerous decision-makers, experts and diplomats from Albania and other Western Balkans states to discuss the course and the future of the Berlin Process and the perspective from Albania on regional cooperation.

The opening remarks on the opening panel was given by  Klajda Gjosha, the Minister of European integration of Albania, while the speakers on the panel were the ambassador of Germany, Susanne Schütz, ambassador of Austria, Johann Sattler, ambassador of France, Bernard Fitoussi, and the ambassador of Italy, Alberto Cutillo. The ambassadors were discussing added value of political cooperation in the Western Balkans and the future of the Berlin process. According to ambassador Cutillo, the next summit of Western Balkans states will be held in Rome in the first week of July 2017.

The second day of the Conference, decicated to the topic of building of partnerships between the government and the civil society, consisted of panels on connectivity, migration and youth cooperation.

The first of the panels concerned the Connectivity agenda, the novelties of the digital market and of value chain, where the participants discussed various aspects of the Connectivity agenda and the economical challenges for Western Balkans states. The second panel was dedicated to the topic of migratory flux from Albania and the necessary policies to amend the resulting issues. Finally, the third panel concerned the issue of youth cooperation and the establishment of the Regional Youth Cooperation Office (RYCO), where the participants were representatives of youth organizations and youth councils from Serbia, Kosovo, Montenegro and Macedonia.