European Western Balkans

Germany’s instrument of acceptance Montenegro’s NATO accession deposited

Flags of Montenegro and NATO; Photo: NATO

cdm logoWASHINGTON – German Embassy in the United States announced that the head of its mission deposited instrument of ratification  of Montenegro’s NATO Accession Protocol, CdM reports.

As the embassy announced on its Twitter account, ambassador Boris Ruge informed the State Department that Germany’s instrument of acceptance regarding Montenegro’s accession to NATO was deposited.

Earlier, the instruments of ratification were deposited by Albania, Belgium, Bulgaria, Canada, Croatia, the Czech Republic, Estonia, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Slovenia, Slovakia, Turkey and the United Kingdom.

After Germany submitted its ratification instrument, only Spain and the Netherlands remained to do so.

The State Department informed Montenegrin Embassy in Washington that the Embassy of the Kingdom of the Netherlands had deposited a copy of its acceptance instrument and that submitting the original document could be expected by the beginning of next week.

After all the member states submit their ratifications to the State Department, Montenegro will submit its ratification, once the Law on Ratification of the North Atlantic Treaty enters into force. The law was passed in the Parliament on Friday.

After that, NATO Secretary General will invite Montenegro to submit its ratification instrument to the US State Department.

As national NATO coordinator Dragan Pejanovic explained, the date when the State Department receives Montenegro’s instrument of the treaty ratification is the date when Montenegro will formally became a member of NATO.

Related posts

AP: Montenegro at crossroads – toward the West or back to Russia

EWB Archives

Statement by European Parliament mediators Mr Vajgl, Mr Kukan and Mr Fleckenstein on the preparations for early parliamentary elections on 11 December

EWB Archives

Pejović in Sarajevo: Regional cooperation and EU support are essential for dynamic economic growth and development in region

EWB Archives