European Western Balkans

EP mediators congratulate Prime Minister Zaev after vote by the Sobranie

Fleckenstein, Vajgl and Kukan; Photo: Infoservice of MEP Eduard Kukan

BRUSSELS – MEPs Eduard Kukan, Knut Fleckenstein and Ivo Vajgl, EP mediators for the 2015 Przino Agreement, issued the following statement congratulating Prime Minister Zaev:

“We congratulate Prime Minister Zaev on the confirmation of the new government and its programme. We are encouraged by the constructive parliamentary debate about the programme and by the government’s commitment to unite the country around a programme that serves the needs of all citizens, delivering on urgent reform priorities as well as working towards Euro-Atlantic integration.

 We hope that all political parties will now act in a constructive spirit of reconciliation, in the common interest of all citizens, and work with the new government on restoring confidence in the country and its institutions, including through the full implementation of the Przino Agreement and Urgent Reform Priorities. The Macedonian people have already waited too long and deserve to see the new government advancing with vigour on this inclusive and reformist agenda.   

 After three postponements due to political uncertainty, we now expect the European Parliament’s plenary vote on the 2016 Country Report will take place as scheduled in June. We also look forward to the European Parliament working with the Sobranie in fulfilling the aspirations of its citizens and on the necessary reforms to allow the country to take concrete steps towards EU membership.”

Related posts

Key findings of the 2015 report on Albania

EWB Archives

Vučić, Fleckenstein: Serbia factor of peace in Western Balkans

EWB Archives

Žbogar: We expect the new Macedonian government to implement serious reforms

EWB Archives