European Western Balkans

Western Balkans aligns with EU's restrictive measures in view of the situation in Libya

BRUSSELS – On 31 March 2017, the Council adopted Council Decision (CFSP) 2017/621. The Council Decision extends the existing restrictive measures until 2 October 2017. The measures in question are a travel ban, assets freeze and a prohibition from making funds available regarding 3 individuals considered as responsible for obstructing or undermining the successful completion of the political transition in Libya. 

The Candidate Countries the former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia, Montenegro, Serbia and Albania, the country of the Stabilisation and Association Process and potential candidate Bosnia and Herzegovina, and the EFTA countries Iceland, Liechtenstein and Norway, members of the European Economic Area, as well as Ukraine, the Republic of Moldova and Georgia align themselves with this Council Decision, it is stated in a Declaration by the High Representative on behalf of the European Union on the alignment of certain third countries with Council Decision (CFSP) 2017/621 of 31 March 2017 concerning restrictive measures in view of the situation in Libya.

They will ensure that their national policies conform to this Council Decision.

The European Union takes note of this commitment and welcomes it.

Related posts

EU: No consensus to open chapters 23 and 24 with Serbia

EWB Archives

The Council of Ministers of BiH and the Croatian Government to agree on European Partnership

EWB Archives

Agreement between the four political parties 20 July 2016

EWB Archives