European Western Balkans

LIBE Committee of the new EP supports visa liberalisation for Kosovo

European flags in front of EP Building in Strasbourg; Photo: European Union

BRUSSELS – Committee for Civil Liberties, Justice and Home Affairs of the European Parliament reaffirmed its support for visa-free travel of the citizens of Kosovo. Final decision is still in the hands of member states.

European Parliament already supported this decision in September 2018. Following the elections in May this year, this institution is one step away from confirming its support in its ninth mandate as well as in the eighth.

According to the news agencies, 46 members of the Committee voted in favour of the decision, 16 were against and one abstained from voting.

However, EU member states have so far been reluctant to allow visa-free travel to the citizens of Kosovo, in spite of European Commission’s assessment that the country has met all conditions.

According to Tanjug, there have been no new initiatives for readdressing this issue, and the countries that are speculated to be against the decision are France and the Netherlands, in addition to five non-recognizing members.

Kosovo remains the only country in the Western Balkans whose citizens require visas to travel to Schengen Area.

Related posts

Svilanović: We can be satisfied with number of chapters opened


Osmani: First – name solution, then referendum


Yee: Skopje and Athens have an excellent opportunity to solve the name dispute in 2018