European Parliament approves the new European Commission

STRASBOURG – European Parliament gave its approval to the European Commission of Ursula von der Leyen today. This was confirmed on the official Twitter account of the EP. 461 MEPs were in favor, 157 against and 89 abstained. The final step for the new Commission before taking office on 1 December is the approval by European Council by qualified majority vote, which is expected to be a formality. The new Commission currently has 27 members, including the President and the High Representative. The start of its work was delayed for a month following the difficult confirmation process in the EP.