Thursday, 23. January 2020


Montenegro is one of the Western Balkan countries, with a population of 700 000 people. The capital and largest city is Podgorica.

On the basis of an independence referendum held on 21 May 2006, Montenegro declared independence on 3 June of the same year.

Montenegro is a member of the UN, NATO, the World Trade Organization, the Organization for Security and Co-operation in Europe, the Council of Europe, the Central European Free Trade Agreement and a founding member of the Union for the Mediterranean.

The State Union of Serbia and Montenegro started the process of Accession to the European Union in November 2005, when negotiations over the Stabilisation and Association Agreement began. In May 2006, Montenegro voted for independence in the referendum and the State Union of Serbia and Montenegro was dissolved.

Serbia continued with the existing negotiations, and separate negotiations were launched with Montenegro in September 2006.

Two years after the declaration of independence, in 2008 the country applied for the EU membership.

In 2010, the Commission issued a favourable opinion on Montenegro’s application, identifying 7 key priorities that would need to be addressed for negotiations to begin, and the Council granted it the candidate status.

In December 2011, the Council launched the accession process with a view to opening negotiations in June 2012.

Important dates

29 June 2012 – Opening the accession negotiations with Montenegro

15 October 2007 – Montenegro signs the Stabilisation and Association Agreement

15 December 2008 – Formal application for membership submitted

17 December 2010 – Montenegro receives official candidate status

26 March 2012 – Screening process started

29 June 2012 – Accession negotiations begin with the screening process

27 June 2013 – Screening completed

18 December 2013 – Five chapters are opened

June 2017 – Montenegro opened 28 chapters



Social networks