European Western Balkans

Macedonia, Montenegro, Serbia, Albania and BiH aligned with restrictive measures in view of situation in Tunisia

Federica Mogherini in front of media; Photo: European Union/EEAS

BRUSSELS – On 27 January 2017, the Council adopted Council Decision (CFSP). The Council Decision extends the existing restrictive measures until 31 January 2018. The measures in question are an assets freeze and a prohibition on making funds available regarding 48 individuals considered as responsible for the misappropriation of Tunisian State funds before 2011.

The Candidate Countries Macedonia, Montenegro, Serbia and Albania, the country of the Stabilisation and Association Process and potential candidate Bosnia and Herzegovina, and the EFTA countries Iceland, Liechtenstein and Norway, members of the European Economic Area, as well as Ukraine, the Republic of Moldova and Georgia align themselves with this Council Decision, it is stated in the Declaration by the High Representative on behalf of the EU on the alignment of certain third countries concerning restrictive measures in view of the situation in Tunisia.

Those countries will ensure that their national policies conform to this Council Decision. The European Union takes note of this commitment and welcomes it, the declaration concludes.

Related posts

Serbian government declares null and void Pristina decree on takeover of property

EWB Archives

Lunacek: Remaining benchmarks on the way to visa liberalisation can and must be fulfilled

EWB Archives

Kocijančič: Call for suspension of Dialogue adopted in Kosovo Parliament does not contribute to normalisation of relations

EWB Archives