European Western Balkans

XII EU-Montenegro SAPC meeting in Podgorica

PODGORICA – Twelfth meeting of the European Union – Montenegro Stabilisation and Association Parliamentary Committee (SAPC) will be held in the Parliament of Montenegro, on 19 and 20 May 2016. The meeting will be co-chaired by SAPC Chair from the Parliament of Montenegro Mr Ranko Krivokapić and Chair from the European Parliament Ms Anneliese Dodds.

The introductory speeches will be delivered, inter alia, by: Deputy Prime Minister for Political System, Internal and Foreign Policy of Montenegro Mr Duško Marković, Dutch Ambassador to Montenegro H.E. Mr Henk van den Dool, on behalf of the Dutch Presidency of the Council of the European Union, and Head of the European Union Delegation to Montenegro H.E. Mr Mitja Drobnjič, on behalf of the European Commission.

At the SAPC meeting of 19 and 20 May, members of the Parliament of Montenegro and the European Parliament will discuss the current state of the accession negotiations and relations between the European Union and Montenegro, the monitoring of the recommendations adopted at the previous meeting held in Strasbourg, the rule of law and the implementation of the electoral legislation, fundamental rights with a focus on gender equality and children’s rights, policies of environmental protection and energy, and the fight against corruption in connection with economic development. In accordance with the previous practice, the agenda includes the Proposal for declaration and recommendations, whose consideration is planned for the second day of the meeting.

Co-chairs of the SAPC Ranko Krivokapić and Ms Anneliese Dodds will speak at the press conference scheduled for 20 May 2016, at 12:30h, afterwards  platforms installed in the Parliament’s building, for the purpose of providing unrestricted access to the Parliament building and the meeting rooms to persons with reduced mobility, will be presented to SAPC participants and media representatives.

The European Union – Montenegro Stabilisation and Association Parliamentary Committee (SAPC) was established in June 2010, after the Stabilisation and Association Agreement came into force. The Committee is composed of 14 members from both the Parliament of Montenegro and European Parliament.

The European Union – Montenegro Stabilisation and Association Parliamentary Committee (SAPC) will be held on Tuesday, 19 May (14:30-17:30h), and on Friday, 20 May 2016  (9;00 -2:30h), in the Plenary Hall of the Parliament of Montenegro.

Related posts

Joint Embassies of Albania and Kosovo: Unprecedented Move?

EWB Archives

Erhard Busek visits RCC Secretariat in Sarajevo

EWB Archives

Status of Russian humanitarian centre in Niš to be resolved by next gov't

EWB Archives