European Western Balkans

The Netherlands ratified NATO accession protocol: Two countries left

Flags of Montenegro and NATO; Photo: NATO

cdm logoAMSTERDAM – The Kingdom of the Netherlands has ratified the protocol on Montenegro’s membership in NATO today, thus ending the necessary parliamentary procedure, the Ministry of Foreign Affairs announced, CdM reports.

After Canada ratified the protocol in March, only Spain and the United States remain to do so.

The Congress of Deputies (the lower house) of the Kingdom of Spain’s Parliament ratified the protocol. In order for the ratification procedure to be completed, the document shall be adopted in the Senate (the upper house) as well.

So far the protocol has been ratified by Island, Slovenia, Hungary, Slovakia, Bulgaria, Romania, Albania, Estonia, Latvia, the UK, Turkey, Poland, Lithuania, Croatia, the Czech Republic, Germany, Belgium, Luxembourg, Denmark, Norway and Italy.

Related posts

EBRD and EU launch SME programme in BiH: Funds worth 24 million euro for adapting to new regulations

EWB Archives

EC to discuss Serbian action plan for Chapters 23, 24 in May

EWB Archives

Commissioner Hahn visits Bosnia and Herzegovina

EWB Archives