European Western Balkans

Kosovo ratified demarcation agreement with Montenegro

Photo: AP Photo/Visar Kryeziu via Tanjug

PODGORICA – The Parliament of Kosovo ratified the Agreement on Border Demarcation with Montenegro. Thus, the demarcation agreement was adopted almost three years after its signing in Vienna.

The Parliament sitting at which the issue was discussed was interrupted four times because of teargas that was thrown in the session hall.

The teargas was activated for the fourth time despite intensified security measures. Three members of the Self-Determination movement activated tear gas the previous three times. They were subsequently arrested.

Due to the incidents, eight deputies of the Self-Determination were suspended.

The ratification of the border demarcation with Montenegro is one of the key EU conditions for visa liberalization for citizens of Kosovo.

Related posts

Minister Dhurata Hoxha of Kosovo tomorrow at the College of Europe in Warsaw


Bushati: There is a difference between Russia’s presence and its obstructive activity


CDT: The countries of the region are stagnating and even regressing in the field of democratization