European Western Balkans

High Representative releseas Declarations on alignment of third countries with sanctions on Russia

Josep Borrell following the Foreign Affairs Council on 10 May 2021; Photo: European Union

The article has been updated.

BRUSSELS – High Representative of the Union Josep Borrell released yesterday several Declarations “on the alignment of certain countries concerning restrictive measures in respect of actions undermining or threatening the territorial integrity, sovereignty, and independence of Ukraine”.

The restrictive measures covered by the Declarations include the ones adopted on 23 February, following the Russian recognition of Donetsk and Luhansk, as well as the ones adopted on 25 February, following the full-scale invasion of Ukraine. The measures mostly refer to asset freezes and travel bans of Russian nationals.

According to the Declarations, North Macedonia, Montenegro, Albania, and Bosnia and Herzegovina align themselves with this Council Decisions.

Serbia has so far not aligned itself with any restrictive measures. Kosovo, which is not recognized by all EU Member States, also adopted restrictive measures, including asset freezes and travel bans, on 25 February.

According to the text of the Declaration, “the European Union takes note of this commitment and welcomes it”.

Related posts

Vučić and Thaçi to discuss normalisation of relations in Brussels


Vučić says he will not sign the same-sex unions law, his justification raises suspicion


Freedom House: Democratic institutions in the Western Balkans continued to falter in 2022